A Life in Progress


buddies
divamel
b-smaller
gnomad
dragprincess
hothead
princessbug
freshhell
purplebanana
ursamajor
sciencegirl


navigation
current
archives
profile

notes

credit
host
design

The Weekend
2003-09-15, 10:54 a.m.

Turns out it wasn't so bad. My sister is really fun, actually.

Dawn came to get me at about 2:30 and we go to Cedar Springs without being able to reach my mom. So, we ate lunch at McDonald's. Hey, there's not exactly haute cuisine in Cedar Springs. Turns out my mom had to work until 4, so we wound up getting an oil change and just waiting around til 4:30. We followed Mom and Jeff to the cabin which is, as it turns out, in the middle of nowhere. Then, we went grocery shopping. It was fun, in an odd sort of way. Jeff wound up spending 70 bucks for one stinking weekend. We got lots of "treats."

Saturday, we woke up, got ourselves together and went to the outlet mall in Traverse City. I bought a book ... Time Management from the Inside Out by Julie Morganstern. 5 bucks. My sister bought a bunch of clothes. Now that she's a student and actually has to leave the house each day, her old babysitter clothes just won't work. I didn't realize how great a body my sister has. She's a size 6 and very ... toned, let's say, since she works out regularly. She bought me a "congratulations on the new job gift" which was a relief drawing of giraffes on resin. It's cool. Then she bought me lunch at BD's Mongolian Barbecue. There was a totally hot woman there ... and, of course, I looked like crap. Not that I'd be trying to pick anyone up or anything, but still. My hair is still dyed that way too dark color and I didn't bring a hair dryer so I had a lovely do-rag on my head. A bright pink one. At least I had on cute clothes. That's all I can say.

My mom drove us there. What my mom forgot to tell us was that she knew how to get there, but not how to get home. So, I didn't pay attention since I wasn't driving. We had to go a long way out of our way to get home since we had to go all the way to Cadillac where she knows how to get home from. Christ. I took a lovely nap when I got back. Stayed sleep until Mom woke me to tell me dinner was ready. Jeff grilled steak and they were gooooood.

Then Sunday we just got up ate breakfast cleaned up the place and went home.

PJH and I watched "But I'm a Cheerleader" last night. It's this movie about, you guessed it, a cheerleader whose family and friends think she's queer so they send her off to "True Directions" an ex-gay sorta place. Well, no one was ex-gay at all since that's completely impossible to be. Okay, so I do have a friend who was a lesbian and wound up married to a man,but I don't think she considers herself an "ex-gay" with all the religious hocus pocus that goes along with it. Anyway, the movie was supposed to be funny, I think. It was disturbing. However, Graham, the cheerleader's love interest was totally hot once she got herself out of the pink frilly clothes that True Directions put her in. Whew.

PJH has discovered Bookwork ... a yahoo game. We stayed up too late last night playing that game. It was actually fun and PJH got quite excited at our score of 255,250. And quite impressed that I got us out of a jam with the word "loci." She's the psychologist .. she should know the plural of locus! :) Always happy to impress my honey, though.

It's 11 am and I've succesfully wasted quite a bit of time. Off I go to answer email and then take a nap. Then more painting and some house cleaning.

prev - next