A Life in Progress


buddies
divamel
b-smaller
gnomad
dragprincess
hothead
princessbug
freshhell
purplebanana
ursamajor
sciencegirl


navigation
current
archives
profile

notes

credit
host
design

Survey Answers
2003-12-10, 9:24 a.m.

I thought I�d answer my own survey questions today. Thanks to DivaMel, katslater, emiloo and daises for their answers.

If you could be any age right now, what would it be? The same age I am. Unless I could get a fairy god mother to let me go back and re-do some stuff, then I�d be 30.

What�s the best thing about your city? My sister and her family live near me, I have great friends here, Rev. Marty Newman

The worst thing? Like nearly all, if not all, Midwestern cities, it�s rife with homophobia and covert racism. Sometimes overt.

What do you do for a living? I�m the Director of Development and Communications for a small nonprofit.

Do you like it? Yes.

Tell me a secret. I can�t have secrets from me now can I?

Do you have baby lust? No, thank God, no.

Who�s your favorite artist? Johannes Vermeer

Is there a particular painting/sculpture/etc that you like best? Young Woman with a Water Jug

How about your favorite poet? Rumi

Favorite poem then? It doesn�t have a name but it goes something like �The minute I heard my first love song I started looking for you, not knowing how blind that was. Lovers don�t find each other, they are in each other all along.�

Favorite guilty pleasure? Magazines: I read tons of them. Some I can�t believe I read. Others I won�t even tell you.

Comfort food? Depends on why I need comforting. If it�s cause I�m sick, I usually want some form of potato (mashed with gravy, fries, Tater Tots) or Dinty Moore Chicken and Dumplings. Otherwise it�s likely to be pizza and/or ice cream.

What was your childhood nickname? My family called me Barbie. They still do. My dad used to call me Pudgy-Fudgy after a character in a book. Plus, I was pudgy. The rest of the world has better sense than to call me anything but my actual given name: Barbara. Woe to the fool who calls me Barb.

How would your worst enemy describe you? Probably it�s an ex and she�d say I�m irresponsible and commitment phobic.

What diary that I don�t read should I? Why? Guess I can�t answer this one either can I?

Tuna sandwiches: pickles or no pickles? Dill pickle relish. If I get a Subway sub, I like sliced dill pickles on the side.

What�s your favorite lunch meal that you eat at work? Tuna sandwiches, ruffled potato chips and diet coke.

If you had a pug dog, what would you name it? Molly. My mom had a pug named Molly that I loved but she died. Her current pug, Cheyenne (God help me, named after a truck. The other dog is Dakota, also named after a truck) is a nuisance but so cute I can hardly stand it.

How about a Vietnamese Potbellied Pig? Petunia.

Who, outside of your family, has had the biggest influence on who you are today? Probably my first therapist, Gail Clover, who most likely literally saved my life. Way back in the day when I was just a chitlin of 27.

prev - next