A Life in Progress


buddies
divamel
b-smaller
gnomad
dragprincess
hothead
princessbug
freshhell
purplebanana
ursamajor
sciencegirl


navigation
current
archives
profile

notes

credit
host
design

April 2002 Fives and Week 2 Plus Weekend
2003-10-06, 3:06 p.m.

Here it is Day One of Week Two on The New Job. It's going well. I really like the executive director which is shocking since he's a man. I am always surprised when I really like a guy.

This weekend was nice. We went to a pow wow at Central Michigan University. That was nice. I had a fry bread hot dog. Should have just had the fry bread ... hot dogs aren't good even on fry bread. Then I had a fry or two that were delicious but I had no room for them. I bought a gorgeous necklace and coveted a painting. It was $325 so I'd better save my nickels and dimes. It was gorgeous. Like we need more art.

Sunday we saw the amazing Maya Angelou. I can't even describe her other than amazing. She was funny and serious and really got people to think about what she was saying. And, for 74, she *looked* amazing.

Today I'm doing further research and reading, getting ready to write our Case for Support. Tonight we are going to go to the library and maybe to the movies. I have to figure out what we're going to eat for the rest of the week so I can go grocery shopping tomorrow. Sometime soon I must get an oil change. Now, I'll return to the Friday Fives for something a tad more interesting than A Day in the Life.

Here's April 2002:

What are the first things that you do in the morning to start your day?

Take a shower, let the dog out, feed the cats and dogs, give them water, let the dog in, clean the cat box get dressed etc. In that order.

What are the last things that you do at night before going to bed?

Back in the day, it was make love. Now, wash my face, brush my teeth, put lotion on my feet and legs.

What daily routine have you recently added to your day?

Getting ready to go to work!

What routine do you wish you could get rid of?

Cleaning the cat box. Except that I don't want to get rid of the cats.

What's the one thing that makes you feel like something is missing if you don't do it some point within your day?

Put on lipstick, take my meds, check my email.

1. What is your favorite restaurant and why?

Hm. I dont' think I really have one any more. I really like the Food Dance Cafe here.

2. What fast food restaurant are you partial to?

If I'm gonna eat it, I like Burger King.

3. What are your standards and rules for tipping?

I'm normally a very good tipper unless the server drops off food and we never see him/her again. Or if I have to bug them for drink refills. Cute girls get better tips. Scandalous, I know.

4. Do you usually order an appetizer and/or dessert?

Rarely.

5. What do you usually order to drink at a restaurant?

Mostly water, sometimes diet Coke. Well, it's about 50/50 really.

1. What's your favorite TV show and why? I love Sex and the City and Queer As Folk. Just cause I love the characters. I also dig American Idol. Cause it's fun.

2. Who is your favorite television star? I don't think I have one, really.

3. What was your favorite TV show as a child? The Flintstones.

4. What show do you think should have been cancelled by now? I don't watch enough TV to have a real opinion on this. Though, I have to say that the Monster Truck show on TLC is ridiculous. There are people, however, who think the same thing about A Makeover Story and I love that, so I guess it's a good thing there's something for everyone.

5. What new show do you hope escapes the axe this season? I haven't seen any new shows.

1. What are your hobbies? Does reading qualify as a hobby? I am learning to like gardening and I want to learn to quilt. So I have hobbies in waiting rather than real hobbies.

2. Do you collect anything? If so, what? I like giraffes and, though I never meant to collect them, I keep getting them as gifts so I do have quite a few of them. So far, no cheap tacky gifts, only cool giraffes.

3. Is there a hobby you're interested in, but just don't have the time/money to do? There are just so many things I'd like to learn to do that I'm gonna have to choose just one: quilting, sewing, gardening (more), swimming, cross country skiing, snow shoeing, canning (really). Of course, I'd love to become a frequent spa goer but I dont' think that qualifies as a hobby.

4. Have you ever turned a hobby into a moneymaking opportunity? Nope. I can't even commit to a hobby much less get good enough to make money at it.

5. Besides web-related stuff (burbs, rings, etc.), what clubs do you belong to? None. I do some volunteer stuff, but those aren't clubs. I'd love to join a book club but I don't know anyone who does one and I don't feel like starting my own.

prev - next