A Life in Progress


buddies
divamel
b-smaller
gnomad
dragprincess
hothead
princessbug
freshhell
purplebanana
ursamajor
sciencegirl


navigation
current
archives
profile

notes

credit
host
design

The Love List
2003-07-02, 9:46 a.m.

Since I have an I Hate It list, perhaps I should have an I Love It List.

What do I love?

I love Macy and Lucky, of course. I love the laugh they have when they think something is hilarious. I love that Macy learned to play Scrabble just because it�s my favorite game. I love their sweaty kid smell. I do NOT love all sweaty kid smells, just theirs. I love how they remember things that I like and try to give them to me. I�ve been inundated with The Wild Thornberrys and giraffes. :)

I love cooking. I love taking unrelated ingredients and coming up with something fabulous. I love when I make something and PJH says, �Wow! This is good!� I love Mexican food. Not tacos, burritos, the stuff you get at Taco Bell or any chain Mexican place but gourmet Mexican food a la Rick Bayless and others. Love jalapeno peppers and chipotle peppers in food. I love certain combinations like tomato, feta cheese and Greek dressing. Greek salads in general. Yum. I love tuna sandwiches with potato chips on the side. I love popcorn and diet coke.

I love watching movies. I love funny movies and romantic movies but not action adventure movies or anything where stuff is blown up. For the most part. There are always exceptions. I love True Lies and I like Jackie Chan pretty well. I love Big Eden. This is a movie everyone should watch. I love When Harry Met Sally, An American President, Clueless. I also love Teenage Angst movies. Such as Clueless and 10 Things I Hate About You. I love the first Harry Potter movie.

I love Harry Potter. I love reading. I like all kinds of books. I�ve read all but one of Anne Rice�s books. I love Mildred Taylor and Pearl Cleage. I love Diana Gabaldon. I love historical fiction. Some fantasy, such as Harry Potter. I love floofy fashion books and books about decorating and gardening. I don�t garden, though. I love magazines. All kinds of magazines: Cooking Light, Better Homes & Gardens, More, Allure, Oprah, Biography. I never buy but have been known to read elsewhere Woman�s Day, Family Circle, Shape, Cosmo, Glamour, Lucky. My aunt gives me Lucky every so often. I�ll read anything though. I sometimes buy specialty magazines like crafts ones, etc. I don�t do crafts, though. I just read about them.

I love it when people send me emails or I read their online journal and they use words I have to look up. Gnomad and DivaMel are good at that. I love reading online journals and can spend hours clicking on banners and stuff checking out new people. I am an addict. I�m not as good at posting, however. I love playing Text Twist or Bookworm. I love words in general. Finding the perfect word can be so satisfying.

I love grantwriting. People call me crazy, but it�s true. I love grantwriting. I like fund development in general but I really like grantwriting and writing direct mail pieces.

I loved being a student and always think about returning to school. To study what, I don�t know. Theology? Public Administration? Philanthropic studies? Hard to say. Maybe just the odd writing class or history or art or something with no degree in mind.

I love going to the beach. I love that one beach on US 2 in the UP. I love lying there in the sun, then floating around in the water on an inner tube thing or just playing with PJH. I love Lehto�s pasties and Clyde�s burgers. I love regional cuisine and ethnic cuisine. Not Asian food, though. I rarely like that.

I love getting the mail. Must be left over from my college days when mail was the high point of the day. At least on the days I got �good� mail. I love to get email which is why I�m on 3 email lists.

I�m obsessed with skin care. Yes, skin care. I�m continually on a quest for great skin. I even know what people with totally other skin types than I have should use. I should be an aesthetician but they don�t make enough money. What a fun job that would be ... helping other people get great skin.

I love The Boondocks. They are hilarious. I love Baby Blues. Also hilarious in a totally different way.

I love bluesy, jazzy music no matter what it�s genre. I love sexy music. I like music that makes me think of a sultry New Orleans night. I love dancing. Not polka, not ballroom, just freestyle club dancing. It�s so fun. I love to dance until every part of me is sweaty.

I love to make love. Everything about it. I love the smell, the taste of a woman�s body. I love the feel of a woman inside of me. I love the feel of her arms around me and her weight on top of me.

So that�s the first round of things I love. We�ll see if I can think of more later.

prev - next