A Life in Progress


buddies
divamel
b-smaller
gnomad
dragprincess
hothead
princessbug
freshhell
purplebanana
ursamajor
sciencegirl


navigation
current
archives
profile

notes

credit
host
design

FridayFives2
2003-07-01, 2:06 p.m.

Here we have the 9/28/01 Friday Five. This, apparently, is going to be another odd obsession of mine. To do them all. Egad. You�ll note that many of them are actually only 4. If the 5th question was �what are you going to do this weekend?�, I left it out. Anyway, onward ...

Laying on your back and facing the ceiling, which side of the bed do you sleep on?

The right side at home. Whichever side is �inside� anywhere else we go.

Do you have to have covers (blankets and/or sheets) at all costs, no matter the weather?

No. In fact, I�m quite prone to kick them off and all on to PJH much to her disgust.

Sleep nekkid or no? Why?

Usually not. It�s always too cold in my house to sleep nekkid. Regardless of the temperature outside, you can see your breath inside.

What's under your bed?

Nothing. Things under your bed block the flow of Chi. God forbid we have blocked Chi.

If you have pets, do you let them sleep with you? Why or why not?

Nope. They keep PJH awake. When I lived alone, my cats slept with me. When PJH is gone, the dog sleeps in the room but not on the bed.

October 5, 2001

What's on top of your refrigerator?

A serving tray. A bag on onions. Dust, probably.

What's your favorite meal of the day?

I like all of them.

Wash dishes by hand or in the dishwasher? What detergent do you use?

We don�t have a dishwasher, so by hand. I actually prefer that even when we do have a dishwasher. I use whatever lemon scented detergent is on sale.

How often do you eat out compared to eating in?

We mostly eat in. I, my dears, am an excellent cook. Only occasionally (and every Sunday for lunch) do we go out to eat.

OCTOBER 12, 2001

Do you have any rituals or ways that you celebrate autumn (or spring for those in the southern hemisphere)?

To date, no. However, I suspect next fall will be marked with garden prep for the winter.

Do you observe Halloween, Samhain, and/or All Saints' Day?

I go to Halloween parties, if invited. Pass out candy to any and all trick or treaters.

Carve pumpkins or paint them?

Both.

If you observe trick-or-treating, what will you be handing out at the door this year?

Some kind of candy that you get in huge bags at WalMart or Meijer.

October 19, 2001

What's the best gift you've ever received?

My nephew made me a bookmark that�s shaped like a teddy bear and his mom wrote on it �Lucky loves Aunt Barbie.� I had it laminated and have had it for 3 years now. I never keep anything that long. A few years ago, The Last Girlfriend took me to Mexico and I went swimming with dolphins. That was the coolest thing EVER. yOu must do it.

What's the worst?

Are any gifts really bad? I mean, if someone goes to all the trouble of thinking about you and what you might like, then that�s a good gift, right? If pressed, though, PJH�s mother gave me a necklace that was the weirdest thing I�d ever seen when she didn�t know me well. It looked like teeth. I didn�t keep it.

What do you want for Christmas/Hannukah/Kwanzaa this year?

What do I want or what do I realistically think I�ll get? :) It�s too early right now to tell. Some things I want right now: a pepper mill, a laptop, magazine subscriptions are always good.

As far as Holiday shopping goes, do you buy throughout the year or do it last-minute?

I do pretty much everything at the last minute, but I�m hoping to get more organized this year and do it earlier. I think I�ll give everyone what I planned to do last year but didn�t have time with the move and that is a Family Favorites Cookbook.

October 26, 2001

What's your favorite time of day?

The half hour before bed time when I get to read peacefully.

What's your least favorite time of day?

First thing in the morning.

Are you a morning person or a night owl? Does it cause any problems?

By nature a night owl. Of course, the world will not operate on my schedule.

If you had an entire worry- and obligation-free day, what would you do with it?

Hm. If alone, I�d read books and magazines, eat a nice lunch, answer email, play Text Twist, quiet stuff like that. If with PJH: what I�d want to do is watch movies, make love, chill. What we probably would do is clean the garage or something.

prev - next