A Life in Progress


buddies
divamel
b-smaller
gnomad
dragprincess
hothead
princessbug
freshhell
purplebanana
ursamajor
sciencegirl


navigation
current
archives
profile

notes

credit
host
design

Pains in my ass. All of them.
2004-04-29, 11:44 a.m.

You know, people are funny. Always got something to complain about.

I came on board at this agency at a crucial time, but also an awkward one. CBC needed to fund raise. CBC needs to get funds other than fees for service. And, frankly, no one here had the skills to accomplish that.

After I began, we had to lay some clinicians off. Each person took 2 weeks during what is traditionally our slowest time of the year. We may have to lay someone off permanently. In light of that, I can see why they�d be a bit resentful that a new person was brought on board. However, you�d also think that they�d understand the need for an aggressive approach to marketing/advertising/PR. We couldn�t continue the wishy washy, ill-thought-out, ill-conceived marketing that the consultant that they overpaid did for them. It was understated. We weren�t actually asking people for money directly.

Yeah, we were so understated that this February was a record worst month for us. Ever. So. We have to step things up a bit. We have to be more marketing focused in our marketing materials. We can�t be �. nonprofit-y. We have to get people in the door and we have to get people to know who we are. And I�m sorry that makes the fucking audiologists uncomfortable.

And the worse thing? None of the audiologists will just tell *me* they have a problem. They go to the Executive Director. Their boss and mine. He hasn�t yet directed them tome, but I�m going to ask that he do so. And remove the triangulation. This time, they didn�t even do that. He found out they were unhappy because it was in their meeting minutes. Here�s what they said:

�The staff expressed some concern regarding the quality of recent marketing efforts. Of specific concern is the �Add-a-Buck� campaign slogan and the web-site changes. The staff would like first of all be aware in advance of marketing efforts and second to be involved in at least a review of the marketing projects before they are finalized. There is concern that the high professional standards that have historically been important to project to the public have been lowered.�

Here�s what he responded:

I note the comment below in the Audiology Meeting Minutes. Specifically, how have our standards lowered? What in particular about the �Add-a-Buck� effort are you concerned about? Moreover, everything thus far has been presented to the staff ahead of time. The letters and concepts have been addressed with the staff and, in fact, some of you suggested edits. The mug was presented and many of you suggested verbage. In fact, we used text suggested by an audiologist. The battery program was discussed at a meeting and everyone seemed in agreement. I believe it was an audiologist that had a concern about batteries for the Medicaid patients and it was this concern that generated the �Add-a-Buck� idea. It is not clear to me what generated this discussion at your meeting.

Thank God he stood behind our choices. Believe me, I�m new enough here that I run every marketing/advertising/PR piece by him first to be sure that it�s in the right �tone� for the agency. I wouldn�t just presume to run off doing things without making sure they were appropriate. Eventually, I�ll know that because I�ll have been here long enough, but right now I�m too new.

And, frankly, I�m not all that interested in showing stuff to the audiologists and the support staff who clearly know nothing about marketing or any of the other work that I do.

Bitches.

The thing is, though, while I�m mad about it all, all I can think of is, �this is a PR nightmare.� We have to get staff all on board to thinking that more aggressive marketing/etc is a good idea and see the need so that they can be part of it. We need everyone to �buy in.� Also good for morale and all that. The thing is, this is personal. They don�t� think I should be here, so they�re resisting. Like high school children. So, now I have to figure out a way to get them all on board and in agreement. Surely they can see that in order to keep their jobs we have to be able to pay for it? And the way to do that is get more patients and get donors. Right? And what we were doing before wasn�t working. So, we have to try new things.

On a happy note, it�s 72 degrees here. I have my office window open and I can hear birds tweeting outside.

prev - next