A Life in Progress


buddies
divamel
b-smaller
gnomad
dragprincess
hothead
princessbug
freshhell
purplebanana
ursamajor
sciencegirl


navigation
current
archives
profile

notes

credit
host
design

Indian Names
2004-08-30, 10:54 a.m.

Okay, so you guys remember both P and I are Native right? Well, I�m a bit less than I thought, but it turns out that my father (according to his sister) actually is Potowatomi and just doesn�t really want to think about it. That�s okay, he doesn�t have to.

Ever since they met us, the boys have been thrilled about the idea of getting an �Indian name.� They ask everyone they meet who�s native if they have an �Indian name.� So, this last week, we took them to a sweat lodge with the medicine man and got them their �Indian names.� Trey is Crocodile Boy, Jake is Gazelle Boy (despite our jokes that it would be Boy Who Wears Clothes) and Cameron is Water Buffalo Boy. I�m going to look around for pictures of those animals so the boys can have them in their rooms. Now, they�re all interested in them. I also have to get the Ojibwe translations since PJH forgot to ask!

Mine, in case you�re interested is Nimiiwin Andekwe, which means Dancing Crow. The �kwe� on the end indicates that it�s feminine. And, so, if you haven�t read back far enough to know how I got my screen name, now you know! ;)

prev - next