A Life in Progress


buddies
divamel
b-smaller
gnomad
dragprincess
hothead
princessbug
freshhell
purplebanana
ursamajor
sciencegirl


navigation
current
archives
profile

notes

credit
host
design

I'm Not Getting Over It
2003-12-16, 11:06 a.m.

I thought I was done. How much can one girl write on race anyway? It would seem that I was wrong and I�m not quite done.

I�ve been reading the comments to others diaries who�ve written about my entry and Trance Jen�s. It�s so interesting to me how, with few exceptions, these people are all like, �Dude! Thank you for saying what we white people have been thinking for, like, ever. Like, get over it already! It�s bad for you people to complain about racism.� Christ.

It�s amazing to me that we even have to have these discussions in the 21st freaking century. That we are even discussing race is a damned shame. But that white people are getting all, like, geeked that someone has said in a public forum what seems to them to be saying that they have no culpability is a damned shame.

Since the comments weren�t made in my guest book (since I don�t have one) or in my notes, I won�t quote them directly or link to them. But let�s just say that it�s always interesting to me to hear what white people have to say about race when they think �one of us� isn�t listening or when they think that they are talking to someone who agrees with them.

Is it true that affirmative action has passed its time? Is it true that we don�t need it and if we want a truly �color blind� society that we have to give it up? Dang, if we want a truly color blind society, why don�t white people give up the power and privilege that goes along with the color of their skin? Why don�t we start *there*?

But back to affirmative action. Has it outlived it�s usefulness? When race comes up, people are so quick to turn to affirmative action and say how necessary it *isn�t* any more. Really? So now we have a Congress, Senate, White House, Fortune 500 companies that reflect the make up of our society? According to the US Census, Hispanics are the largest minority in this country making up 13.5% of the population, Blacks come in second at 13% followed by Asians and Pacific Islanders at 5%. Native Americans and Alaska Natives make up only 1% of the total population. 2.4% of the population claim 2 or more races. Since I�m at work, I don�t have time to do an in-depth analysis but I�m guessing that our government does not reflect that diversity. And our Supreme Court certainly doesn�t: we don�t have any Hispanics, Asians/Pacific Islanders or Native Americans/Alaskan Natives on the Court. I can just about guarantee you that our Fortune 500 companies don�t come anywhere near that make up. If I�m wrong, and you can show me that, I�ll be glad to publicly state that I�m wrong. I�m pretty sure I�m not. So, is it true that we don�t need Affirmative Action? Are companies hiring people of color and promoting them and actually giving them equal opportunities? The answer to me is clear. Interestingly, in one of the comments I read, responding to *me*, a Native American woman, the author quoted racial statistics leaving Native Americans out completely. Apparently, we are �statistically insignificant.�

I hesitated before writing this. I get tired of saying it. I get tired of people telling me to get over it. But I�ll get over it when race is no longer an issue. I�ll get over it when, just like white people now, no one of any race has to think about their race as they go about their daily lives. Like white people rarely, if ever, have to think about race. Unless they venture into an area where *they* are in a minority and then they are scared. Think about that for a minute. If *you* are nervous in an all non-white environment think about how it must feel in reverse and that is a daily reality. At least peripherally, it�s always a factor.

So, if you have something to say I�d like to hear it. I�m always open to discussion. But don�t tell me to get over it.

prev - next