A Life in Progress


buddies
divamel
b-smaller
gnomad
dragprincess
hothead
princessbug
freshhell
purplebanana
ursamajor
sciencegirl


navigation
current
archives
profile

notes

credit
host
design

Apathy2&Fri5August2002
2003-10-15, 4:21 p.m.

The apathy has not waned really. I just can�t get worked up about stuff. Surely there is something that should be bugging me. Even the appointment I had at 2:30 who is quite late isn�t bugging me. Even life stuff isn�t bugging me. George W isn�t even on my nerves these days. Bad drivers? Not even the idiots who drive within 2 inches of my bumper flashing their lights for me to move even when I am driving 75 miles an hour, there is no lane to my left and there is a semi on my right. Okay, they bother me a little, but that stuff would normally send me into a tirade.

In other news, I have read a couple of good books lately. I can�t remember if I talked about The Runaway Quilt but it was excellent. Good thing I�m not trying to be a book reviewer since I can�t really tell you why it was excellent except that it was. Then, yesterday I finished another Jude Deveraux. Wild Orchids. Now, all you book snobs out there, stop it. Her stories are surprisingly well written and though there is a romance component, they are not the bosom heavers. This one was a suspense story that even starred the devil himself. Speaking of which, I tried to read The Brother of Jesus. Nonfiction. I couldn�t though. The writing was far too dry and boring. However, what does it say about me that I actually enjoyed reading �The Fundraising Planner?�

Tonight PJH and I are going to see a presentation by Julie Morgenstern of �Organizing from the Inside Out� fame. She�s going to be at the Radisson. This must be the week for �self-improvement� since I went to a professional seminar yesterday, I�m going to that today and then tomorrow at noon I�m going to another thing on Time Management.

PJH did Pilates on Monday night! There were several things she swore that she could not do but she did enough. She�ll work up to the harder things. I think I finally mastered �Rolling Like a Ball.� I don�t know if I�ll ever get the Seal. Rolling Like a Ball is fun. Makes you feel like a child playing. The Seal would be fun if I could do it, I think. You basically put your feet together, wrap your arms around them, roll back on your back and clap your feet together, then roll up and do it again. Not a good description but watching those people on the video do it is hilarious.

August 2, 2002

1. What is your lineage? Where are your ancestors from? My father�s parents are Native American, thus from here. My mother�s family is a mix of this and that, lots of Scottish.

2. Of those countries, which would you most like to visit? Well, there�s only one I mentioned, so Scotland.

3. Which would you least like to visit? Why?

4. Do you do anything during the year to celebrate or recognize your heritage? Well, being Native is part of daily life so I suppose it�s a bit different than your average white girl celebrating St. Patrick�s Day. We go to Pow Wow�s, which is fun, to sweat lodges and do traditional ceremony things at home.

5. Who were the first ancestors to move to your present country (parents, grandparents, etc) On my mother�s side: I have no idea.

August 9, 2002

1. Do you have a car? If so, what kind of car is it? Yep. A silver 1997 Mitsubishi Galant.

2. Do you drive very often? Every day to and from work at the very least.

3. What's your dream car? I don�t have one really. I don�t care about cars. The next one is likely to be a Saturn, though.

4. Have you ever received a ticket? Not since 1988. January 15, 1988 to be precise.

5. Have you ever been in an accident? A few. Nothing too serious though. I was never the driver in a car collision type thing but once when I was driving someone else�s car, the, oh, what do you call it? The axle! The axle broke. That wasn�t fun.

August 23, 2002

1. What is your current occupation? Is this what you chose to be doing at this point in your life? Why or why not? Fund raising. Definitely. I really like fund raising and thus far I really like the organization I�m newly working for and the staff. I�d like my next gig to be working for an agency that has some personal meaning for me, though.

2. If time/talent/money were no object, what would your dream occupation be? Shoot. I�d be the world�s most successful jazz vocalist. Since I can�t carry a tune if you put it in a sack, it�s a good thing the question included if talent were no object. Then, I�d be singer/actress/best-selling author. Or maybe I�d develop a line of skin care products and cosmetics that actually do what they say they are going to do and don�t cost a fortune.

3. What did/do your parents do for a living? Has this had any influence on your career choices? Nothing. My mom was a housewife. Not a homemaker, mind you, since she wasn�t good at cooking or cleaning or homey stuff. My dad had an assortment of jobs until I was 13 at which time his disability become more and more apparent and he couldn�t keep a job.

4. Have you ever had to choose between having a career and having a family? I didn�t have to choose, but effectively did. I�m nearly 37 and haven�t gotten pregnant. Chances are I�m not going to. So, no children for me.

5. In your opinion, what is the easiest job in the world? What is the hardest? Why?

Easiest is any professional athlete who gets paid a fucking fortune to play a stupid game. The hardest? Being a mom. They are underpaid, not appreciated and despite the prevalence of groups like �Focus on the Family�, mothers are not valued in this country.

August 30, 2002

1. What's your favorite piece of clothing that you currently own? I don�t know if I have one. Maybe my new blue turtleneck. It�s just a great color and it�s comfy.

2. What piece of clothing do you most want to acquire? A pair of great microfiber boots. And a new winter coat.

3. What piece of clothing can you not bring yourself to get rid of? Why? I get rid of things regularly. I don�t have anything I can�t bear to get rid of.

4. What piece of clothing do you look your best in? Probably the turtleneck I just mentioned. Along with a black skirt and tights.

5. What has been your biggest fashion accident? In high school: a denim mini skirt with a Flashdance style sweatshirt that had a big Japanese symbol on the front, worn with gloves, high heels and :shudder: ankle socks.

prev - next