A Life in Progress


buddies
divamel
b-smaller
gnomad
dragprincess
hothead
princessbug
freshhell
purplebanana
ursamajor
sciencegirl


navigation
current
archives
profile

notes

credit
host
design

Ruby Got Hit By a Car
2004-07-01, 10:33 a.m.

My dog died yesterday.

I let them out late on Tuesday night. I always leash Tasha when I take them out because she runs. Ruby I don�t leash because she only runs if Tasha does. When I was bringing them back in, Tasha got away and ran before I could get her leash. Ruby followed.

Tasha came home and Ruby, didn't. I didn�t go to work yesterday. I spent the day cleaning up Tasha, who came home filthy, taking her to the vet and looking for Ruby. For hours, I went in the fields around our house and in town, looking for Ruby. In the brush, in the areas where there are wild turkeys and stuff. I thought maybe she got her collar hooked on something and couldn�t get out. But that wasn�t it.

Ruby got hit by a car. A nice man found her body and called us up to say he'd found her. It looked like her neck was broken, so she died quickly and didn�t suffer. Thank God. I cried so much. I was really freaking hysterically sad. I cried and cried and cried. We buried her last night and still today I am so sad. I just want to keep crying. I can't believe I cried so much. I can't believe how much I loved Ruby and how much I miss her.

At least I got to say goodbye. I got to rub her little ears and her back and tell her I loved her and I was sorry.

It�s ridiculous. She�s a dog. I only had her for 4 months. But I loved her so much and she loved me and I�m just sad. I can�t be crying here at work. And I don�t have much else to talk about or to say. I�m just really, really, sad. Far more than I would have thought possible

I hope that those people who say animals don't have souls are wrong. I want Ruby to be with God.

prev - next